top of page
Search
  • Editor

La Bandera Con muchos Colores


By Eliana Solis


Red, white, and green,

The bright and vibrant colors

These are the colors of pride

These are the colors of strength

These are the colors running through my blood

Y con orgullo I stand by their side


Red, white and green however

Can also be dark and gray

For these colors possess a certain duality

One I am not proud to claim


These colors keep my aunts in the kitchen

to cook to clean and to care for mis primos

The same colors that permit my uncles to sit,

to sit and to eat and to drink


These colors allow la familia to judge

What I eat what I drink and all in between

Y tu novio, I hear as mi tia reminds me

To get a man I need to learn to cook and to clean


The white is waved high in the air as a flag

I show to my elders granting permission to nag

To strip me of my confidence because I'm too fat or too thin

To belittle my accomplishments simply because I'm not their kin

Constantly pointing out all that is wrong with me

But somehow they deserve my respect, because you see

They are my elders, and I must do what I am told

Calmate mija, now serve your dad, his dinner’s getting cold


The red is the anger that all men must hold

Because the man of the house stands firm, heart cold

To work for 12 hours every day and sometimes night

Must be taxing on a man, however no tear in sight

To cry as a Mexican man is not allowed

Because all machismo men must stand their ground

Only little girls cry, stand up straight mijito

If you're sad or your hurt, don't let anyone know


The green is the envy that the women possess

Envy of the men who are free from all the stress

From the cooking and the cleaning and everything in between

And to do it alone, with husbands working all day, nowhere to be seen

Mija wash the dishes, don't wear that it’s too revealing

Your ama would be disappointed, wear something more concealing


Red, white, and green, the very colors that stand tall

As a Mexican I am proud of, but as a woman, make me feel small

So alongside so many others, as a Latina I make a vow

To bring new light to these beautiful colors, and this change starts now


 

Eliana Solis created this poem in response to the Fall 2022 WGSS 205 assignment to challenge an ideology promoted by the patriarchal culture industry.

 

Protest street art photo by María Fuentes on Unsplash.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page